The Breaking and Blessing

This was written by my cousin. She feels, sees, and thinks deeply about life’s ups & downs. I love reading her ponderings. Blessings~

jacquimignault

IMG_7900

When I saw this picture my husband took this past week in the mountains near our house, I immediately thought of this sentence:

“For there is the thing itself, utterly irresistible, the way to the worlds end, the land of longing, the breaking and blessing of hearts.”

Come on.  That’s a good sentence.

This sentence of C.S. Lewis’ has always stuck out for me. It’s from the memoir of his coming to faith, Surprised by Joy.  I wrote this sentence out on a blue sticky note and had it above my desk for a couple of years. Isn’t it a great sentence? Maybe its just me; I mean, its my kind of sentence – its got a lot of commas.     But its an opening sentence, as in, it’s a sentence that opens up…..something…. before you, a world you could inhabit, or maybe just a world that you could look around…

View original post 1,358 more words

Leave a Reply

