Whitman Inspired Poem ~

The kids and I learned about how to write in a Walt Whitman style.  This was my attempt.  I really like how this poem expressed what was on my heart and wanted to share it with you. = )

Our family jumping

The Life I Play

written by Lara Marriott

I play each day with a ball of hope

Excited to bounce it playfully along

Streets of new ideas and new adventures discovered

I play each day with a resilient heart

A jump rope of challenge that moves me up and down

To more health, more knowledge, and more proven successes

I play each day to the beat of a drum

Reminding me I am alive and human

I can excel with each thump, thump, thump

I play each day because I live for as long as God’s ruler measures

My life will be a determined playground

A fun-loving experience where joy, love, and hope abound

I play because playing is fun!

Leave a Reply

