Finding Joy

Untitled design (1)

I have been asking this question at least once a day as my days commence into homeschooling, house cleaning, planning, working, and so on.  Yesterday, I knew I had to get some things done that really were not very fun.  I find that when I am doing the laundry, sweeping, dishes, picking up after the kids, cleaning dirty messes, mediating arguments, and working at my job, I begin to feel anger, frustration, anxiety, exhaustion, and defeat instead of happiness.

It seems that we are all living in a time where it is easy to be stressed out.  Stress for me at times, becomes a broken badge that I have a tendency to wear in hopes of receiving some kind of empathy and/or relief, whether it be at work, at school, in traffic, or at home. Happiness gets hidden away and I forget where I had placed it and so the stress cycle continues to press on, leading me down a darkened path.  Can you relate?

Is there a hope?  Will we be able to fight back stress and rediscover what makes us happy again?  I believe so.  The wise counsel of my husband whispered in my mind the other day, “Listen to music while you work.”  You see, he had discovered many years ago that I was much more efficient and happy when I turned on the stereo as I cleaned the house.  I didn’t make the correlation at first, but I have come to realize that his observations were correct.  Listening to music makes me so happy.  It helps brighten my day no matter what I am doing.  Music is one of the places happiness likes to reside for me in my life. What is it for you?  Where do you find your happiness?

Now, going to those places of happiness is a wonderful departure from stress.  However, our happiness doesn’t last long enough as we’d like it to because hard life situations and events continue to happen to everyone; everywhere.  So God comes in and offers us something even better than happiness.  What is it?  What could possibly be better than being happy?  Joy.  Joy, exceeds happiness and Joy only can come from a relationship with the Lord.   Joy embraces our souls no matter what goes on around us. This is what the Bible says about Joy:

Romans 15:13 “May the God of hope, fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

James 1:2 “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of any kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.”

Even though it is important to stop and spend sometime in our days to do things that make us happy, it is important to remember where our constant source of joy comes from.  I know I need to remember this and pursue being in God’s Presence everyday.  I try to blend the two by listening to worship music.

I want to encourage all of us to ask God to fill us with His constant Joy, instead of always running after short-lived happiness.  Maybe you too can find a way to blend both like I do with worship music.

Be blessed.  “May the God of hope, fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the Power of the Holy Spirit.”

Lara~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

Leave a Reply

