Periscope Bible Q&A (part 2) –

I don’t know if you have heard of the new live streaming app called, “Periscope” yet, but I have been leading daily bible studies on it at 6:30am P/T, going through the “Jesus Calling” devotional. Well, because it broadcasts globally to anyone who wants to join in, I have had a few people ask some amazing questions about God, Jesus, and why I(we) believe in Jesus. During our study time, others can tweet responses, questions, and prayer requests that we all can read and reply too. I don’t usually have time to try and answer some of the questions, so I am using my blog as a tool to do so. Usually, my husband (who is a worship pastor and who is currently taking Theology in University) helps me answer the questions, but he hasn’t been able to, so I am going to try my best to answer them. Please, feel free to comment or add to these answers if you think I missed anything. =)

Questions: (for Amin)

What is the meaning of worship?
– The meaning of worship is to give honor, reverence, and adoration to God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit. It is a way to thank Him for all that He has done and has yet to do. It aligns our hearts with His.

What has God done for you?
– God has given me the assurance of knowing that He is with me by showing Himself to me in very specific and personal ways. He has helped me be more peaceful, than angry; more bold, than fearful; more faith-full, than uncertain. He has blessed me abundantly.

What is the reason when a kid is born with flaws?
– It is because of sin that we are flawed. In the beginning when God made creation He rested and looked at what He had made and called it “good.” All of creation was once perfect in His sight. However, humans were given the freedom to choose. Unfortunately, through the first man and woman, we chose our way, instead of following God’s way. Because of their choice, everything was cursed by sin. That is why there is suffering, heartache, unfairness, flaws, etc. But, there is hope! Jesus, is coming back again to make things right and to bring justice to the world. Through Him, we will be saved from the curse of sin. In heaven, everything will be restored and we will be able to walk with the Lord just like Adam and Eve did in the garden in the beginning. All we have to do is give our lives over to Him and believe Jesus is the Son of God.

Why do we have to live with flaws?
– A good read would be the book of Job. There are probably many different reasons why. Only God knows the specific reasons. Sometimes, they are used to teach us something. Sometimes, God can use them to draw us closer to Him. Sometimes, there is no logical reason. It says in the bible, it rains on the good and the bad. We live in an imperfect world. Jesus said, “In this world you will have trouble, but take heart I have overcome the world.” Thankfully, through Jesus, there is hope.

So you believe in heaven and hell?
– Yes. Why? Because, the God who loves me and whom I love talks about heaven and hell in the bible. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt there is good and there is evil. They are always at war with each other all around us. That is obvious. So to think there is a heaven and a hell isn’t that difficult for me to believe.

Who will go to heaven?
– Jesus said in John 14:6 “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” John 3:16 says, “For God loved the world so much, that He gave His one and only Son. That whoever believes in Him will not perish, but have everlasting life.” So, those who believe in Jesus and ask Him into their hearts will go to heaven to be with Him forever.

So if I believe in Jesus I will go to heaven? Even when I do something wrong? So I will do whatever I want like killing and raping and believing in Jesus and so then I will go to heaven.
– Yes, If you believe in Jesus with a humbled, reverent heart, asking Him to come inside you and help you through your life, you will go to heaven and be saved. You will be covered with His grace. You will still mess up and make mistakes, but His Holy Spirit will guide you into all truth and will help to transform you so that you won’t have any desire to do something that is not aligned with His heart, like killing or raping.

Who defines the good thing and the bad thing?
– God is the standard. He is Love. He is all good. “There is no one (man or woman) who is good, not even one.” Psalm 14:2-3

So how can I contact God?
– By just talking with Him as if He was one of your friends. Even though we cannot see Him we can see the effects of what He is doing. He is Spirit. So when we call out to Him, He will be there. Psalm 139

The Bible is for 2015?
– Yes! The Bible is the inspired word of God. It has been applicable and relevant all throughout history for the Jews and now including the gentiles (all those who are not Jewish). God can and has used the bible to guide and direct our steps in many different ways. I was reading in Colossians the other day and the Apostle Paul told the church he was writing to, to share his letter with the other churches. The Bible was intended to be shared all over the world.

Other people with other beliefs will go to hell?
– There are many people who strive to be good people. God is Sovereign and knows each of our hearts. Jesus said He was the way, the truth, and the life. He was the only way to get to the Father. He became the atoning sacrifice for our sins. Remember, because of the choice we made back in the beginning to do our own thing, we were cursed to die as a result of our sinful choice. Well, Jesus took that punishment that we deserved upon himself when He came to this earth. He was the only one who could have done it because he was without sin. He was fully God and fully man. He died a criminal’s death to break the curse over us and give us the gift of freedom from that bondage and to allow us to freely live life to the fullest; the way God intended. We no longer have to strive to be good and to do good in order to be with God. Through the grace of Jesus, we get immediate access with the God of the Universe. No more striving in our own effort, just the acceptance of His abundant grace. This is good news! He is the only one who deserves all the glory, honor and praise.

How do you know that the Bible is not modified?
– Great question! (I wish my husband was available to help me out on this one) One of the ways we know that the bible was not modified is to look at the archeological evidence that is out there, for example, the Dead Sea Scrolls were written thousands of years ago and when those books in the bible that were preserved, were lined up with our current bible it showed the accuracy to be in the 90th percentile. That is very impressive!! We can also see how the bible has stood the test of time throughout the centuries. Now, there are translations that are known to have modified the text somewhat to make it more current in tone, such as, the Message Bible. I believe they call that one a Paraphrase Bible. But for the most part, the bible is the most unchanged sacred text in all of history.

What will happen in heaven?
– Philippians 3:20-21 says, “But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body. (NIV)”

Revelation 21:1-4 “Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away … I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God … And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” (NIV)

So when there is no crying how can we define happiness?
– Happiness is defined as being in God’s Presence. There was no crying in the garden of Eden when the first man and woman walked the earth. Why? Because they got to be in fellowship with God daily.

Without war, what is the meaning of peace?
– The meaning of peace is what God intended for His creation in the beginning. He is a God of Peace. Jesus was called the “Prince of Peace.” War doesn’t bring about peace, it reminds us that we have a longing for peace and we can find that peace through Jesus.

Questions 5/19

Do you believe in the supernatural?
– Yes

What are your thoughts on the new revival and the great awakening?
– I have had a passion for years of another great revival happening where God’s people will wake up and get excited for His coming again and that many, many more people will come to know Jesus as their Savior.

Can signs and wonders happen for everyday, regular people
– Yes, I was healed as a child. I have family testimonies of amazing supernatural signs happening for them in their time of need. I have personally been rocked by God’s supernatural power. I am totally an everyday, regular person too! =)

Do you think anyone is really the “chosen ones”
– This is just my opinion. No matter what your take is on this, most of us will probably see each other in heaven. But, for me personally, I believe God saw all who were going to chose Him, yet He still gave us the choice to choose. Jesus died for all.

Muslims, Jews, etc all believe they are the chosen ones. Once you have that many who believe that it is not as special anymore
– The one thing that believing in Jesus has that none of the other religions believe is “grace.” You can’t earn your way to God. Because of the unconditional love that Jesus showed and because I have personally been transformed by His loving grace, my faith and relationship with Him is the most special possession I have.

Great, great questions!! I hope these answers helped. Hopefully, I will be able to find some of my pastor friends to help me out. =) These questions are helping me grow in my faith too! Looking forward to hearing more and learning from you all too.

Blessings,

Lara ~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

5 thoughts on “Periscope Bible Q&A (part 2) –

  1. Hello Lara,
    Thanks for answering my questions, but I’m still confused,

    First you said when a baby is born with a flaw( for example, down syndrom) its because They cursed by sin, so children of bad people should have flaws! And also you said they will be fixed in the heaven, so will they go to heaven? Why? Because they were retarded?

    Second, I wanna contact god, so I need to talk to him, how can i know that it was god, maybe it was devil! There should be one person to verify it! Because you said humans have flaws, so its impossible for humans to separate god and devil and as a result they may do something wrong!

    Third, when you enter a university if you wanna graduate you should study and obey their rules, i think same thing is for religion, its a. Rule for woshiping god, but just believing in one person(jesus) and doing nothing else is a little strange!

    Forth, In Islam there are several layers of heaven!! The better person you are the better layer of heaven for you! Do you have the same thing? If yes, so when every one is happy in heaven how can we seperate them, some people are happier than others!!?? Also in heanen eveything is perfect, so we dont get tired, right? So we dont need to sleep! So 24 hours every day you are happy and awake!! Its so boring! And also in heaven nobody gets old! So when a 5 year old kid dies, he or she will be a 5 year old kid in heaven?

    Fifth, You said god defines good thing and bad thing, for example i wanna know whether alcohol is good or bad, so what should i do?
    Sorry, too many questions, and my English is not good.
    Best wishes,
    Amin

    Like

    • Hi Amin!! Thank you for your response. I tried my best to answer your questions from my own walk of faith, but I realize now that you need answers from people who have studied the Bible in a more deep and thorough way than myself. I have forwarded your response to some pastor friends of mine to see what their answers would be. I will post those when I receive them, okay? Thank you for being patient with me. Your questions are helping my walk with the Lord also, so thank you for your honesty.

      Lara~

      Like

    • Hello Amin,

      Well, I asked some pastor friends of mine who I admire and look up to how they would respond to your questions. I heard back from one of them and this was his response:

      #1. Babies born with a flaw are not more cursed by sin than anyone. All mankind was “born and shaped in iniquity” because of the sin of Adam and Eve. The Bible is the Story of God’s Redemption Plan to restore mankind to the beauty and holiness of the Garden. People who are unable to make rational decisions will be judged by only the knowledge they have.

      2. Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. That inner voice can be identified by it’s content. God is not going to ask you to sin. He is without sin. Jesus answered this question… how can a house be divided against itself?

      3. The commandments were there to follow, but no one could follow them completely. Not only that, the religious intellectuals added several thousand other rules to try to help us be holy. It didn’t work. Jesus said that we should follow Him and as we draw closer to Him our behaviors will change… but we will never reach perfection. That’s why His grace is so important.

      4. There are no layers in heaven – except that there will be a variety of crowns (rewards) when we are judged for our works… God is far more concerned about our hearts and motives than what we have accomplished… Paul says when we do things out of duty they become dead works (useless and of no value). When we do things out of a sincere heart they resonate in heaven. In heaven our bodies are changed… it will not be boring. We will be designed for eternity… life everlasting… not finite. We will know each other but not in a male or female sense… no marriage or giving in marriage… We will be “beings” – not separated by age, gender, skin color or culture…

      5. There are grey areas (cultural differences) that should be judged by those standards. In some places the water is bad and filled with disease. Wine is the drink of choice for health reasons. The Bible is clear that one should not drink to excess… that is a guideline that applies to all cultures.

      What are your thoughts? For me personally, I need to research more about what the Bible says regarding #4. I thought we would be known for our characteristics as well. I’ll see if my friend can give Bible references for us to refer to.

      Also, do you have a Bible? If not, you should find a christian church and ask them if you can have a Bible. We are just regular people trying to point you to God’s Word, but it’s second hand. The best thing is for you to read for yourself what the Bible has to say. It is living and can move in your heart if you let it. My recommendation for you would be to start in the book of John and get to know more about Jesus. The Psalms in the Old Testament are great and very relatable. Let me know if you start reading the Bible and if anything stands out to you as you read. = )

      Blessings to you,

      Lara

      Like

      • Hi Lara,
        As you can see, no one is able to answer these questions, these are not answers of my questions, for example i said how can i make sure that inner voice is god! You said listen to the inner voice! Or you said there are some rewards for some people, its heaven, reward is meaningless! What kind of reward? For example, just to describe the reward, if every one can eat apple in heaven ,some people can eat pineapple too as a reward? My point is when you enter heaven you are happy, why do you need rewards? Heaven Without layer means that a person like you who really believe in god and a person like Mr.X who just believe in god as a plan B will be in a same place!
        And about bible i just did a simple search in google:
        Ch. 1, Verses No.16, that…‘God created two lights the greater light, the Sun to rule the day, and the lesser light the Moon, to rule the night. Moon has its own light?

        most people, like my muslim and chiristian friends just believe in god without any reason, because they were told there is a god, and when I tell them there is no god, just one answer, ” dont say that, maybe there is a god, and you will go to hell” ,.

        If there is a god, I’m a pure devil!
        Best Wishes,
        Amin.

        Like

  2. Hi Amin,

    Here is what the Bible says:

    John 14:6 “Jesus answered, ‘I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

    Acts 2:21 “And anyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”

    – this is the only way to be able to hear God’s voice.

    John 10:27 “My sheep listen to My voice; I know them, and they follow Me.”

    James 4:7-10 “So humble yourselves before God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Draw close to God, and God will draw close to you. Wash your hands, you sinners; purify your hearts, you hypocrites. Let there be tears for the wrong things you have done. Let there be sorrow and deep grief. Let there be sadness instead of laughter, and gloom instead of joy. When you bow down before the Lord and admit your dependence on Him, He will lift you up and give you honor.”

    John 14:26 “when the Father send the Counselor as My representative-and by the Counselor I mean the Holy Spirit-He will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I Myself have told you.” – Jesus

    You see we can only hear God’s voice when we confess our sins and give our lives over the Him, believing in Jesus. We then are given the Holy Spirit who speaks to us and leads us daily to walk in the ways of the Lord. Believers are sealed by the blood of Jesus. When God looks at us He sees Jesus in us.

    Matthew 7:21 “Not all people who sound religious are really godly. They may refer to Me as Lord, but they still won’t enter the Kingdom of Heaven. The decisive issue is whether they obey my Father in heaven.”

    Here is a little bit of what the Bible says about heaven:

    (there are a few more passages that speak about heaven, but I’d have to research more of them for you. Plus, there isn’t a lot said about heaven.)

    Revelation 21:1 “Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the old heaven and the old earth had disappeared. And the sea was also gone. And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven like a beautiful bride prepared for her husband. I heard a loud shout from the throne, saying, ‘Look, the home of God is now among His people! He will live with them, and they will be His people. God Himself will be with them. He will remove all of their sorrows, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. For the old world and its evils are gone forever.’ And the one sitting on the throne said, ‘Look, I am making all things new!’ And then He said to me, ‘Write this down, for what I tell you is trustworthy and true.’ And He also said, ‘It is finished! I am the Alpha and the Omega – the Beginning and the End. To all who are thirsty I will give the springs of the water of life without charge! All who are victorious will inherit all these blessings, and I will be their God, and they will be my children. But cowards who turn away from me, and unbelievers, and the corrupt, and murderers, and the immoral, and those who practice witchcraft, and idol worshipers, and all liars-their doom is in the lake that burns with fire and sulfur. This is the second death.”

    Regarding that google search you did on the sun and the moon, I think that is just semantics. God used the moon to produce light for the night by reflecting the sun’s light. Technically, the moon is still lit up for us a night time.

    Bottom line Amin, I can’t make you believe in God. I can just point to Him through my life, my testimony, the Bible, creation, and the rest is up to you. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that there is a God who loves me. He has revealed Himself to me. And I see Him work in my life daily. I know I have His Spirit in my heart leading and guiding me. I have been transformed and am not the same person that I would be if I didn’t have His Spirit in me. I am covered by His grace and His love. It is my prayer that you will find Him and allow Him to totally transform your life too. He is a good God who loves you and wants to have a relationship with you.

    God, thank you for Amin. You see him; You know everything about him. I pray You will reveal Yourself to him. I pray he will offer his life to you and that your loving kindness and grace will cover him. Keep chasing after him. Amen ~

    Thank you Amin for being honest and open. I am no theologian, but I hope these scripture verses were able to answer your questions a bit better.

    Blessings,

    Lara

    Like

Leave a Reply

