What Make A Great Worship Leader?

This is a very interesting article. What do you think of Josh Maze’s opinion?

http://joshmaze.com/home/posts/jimmy-fallon

For me, I feel a little uneasy about it, because this type of article has the potential of giving the allusion of being able to quantify what it takes to become a great worship leader. I have to say that I think Jimmy Fallon is amazing at what he does and there are many clips from The Tonight Show that are, quite frankly, hilarious! But, I’ve also seen, especially young worship leaders/artists, read something like this and then try to replicate it, avoiding the true value of what it means to be humble and completely aligned with the Lord’s direction while leading worship.

I am also to blame for this. In my teens and early 20s I experienced leaders in the church tell me to smile more on stage, engage with the audience, play the camera, be “authentic,” and those comments always gave me a sour feeling in my stomach. I would think to myself, ‘weren’t we still a bunch of messed up people seeking God to help us be better? Why can’t worship leaders and church leaders show that we too are having a bad day? However, the pressure to perform was great and the demands from the congregations clouded my thinking, making me feel I had to give them what they wanted in my own strength to be accepted and to point to Jesus which resulted in pride, judgement, comparisons, self-doubt, worry, and anxiety.

The bible says, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13. It also says, “Without ME (Jesus), you can do nothing.” John 15:5

As worship leaders in our churches, I have found through my experiences over the years the MOST IMPORTANT thing to remember is to have a personal, deep, relationship with the Lord through the Holy Spirit. We need to keep seeking Him in all we do throughout the week. He needs to become our go to person. Why? It is only then that we can be filled up and confidently take the stage as a leader through His Power, through His guidance, and through His love. The church WILL see a heart after God’s heart, They WILL experience authenticity. They WILL feel like they are the most loved people, only because God’s love will be shining through you(us) and pour over them. Bottom line, it has very little to do with what we are capable of doing and everything to do with what God can do through us. We are the Holy Spirit’s servants, doing HIS work, making HIM increase as we decrease.

There is nothing wrong with Josh Maze. I am actually thankful he posted his thoughts. Having an honest conversation and working through opinions is healthy and has the potential of making us stronger as people and in this case followers of Jesus.

So do you want to join in on the conversation? What do you think?

Lara ~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

Leave a Reply

