“Ignore The Noise” ~

10517643_10152824371071263_9079122251322747241_o

I have been sick with a chest cold for almost 2 weeks now.  I can’t remember the last time I had to stay in bed, take lots of cold medicine, and rest for such a long period of time.  I am a homeschool mom, worship leader, music teacher, women’s ministry director, singer-songwriter, and part-time receptionist.  I don’t have time to REST!!!

Being in bed, I’ve become lazy, weak, and bored.  I’ve been watching the NFL Live sports channel all week. (I had no idea there was a WHOLE WEEK of football stuff going on before the Superbowl!  It has definitely been an eye opening experience for me, since I have only been a hockey fan, growing up in a Canadian household, until this year; really.  Anyway, Russell Wilson tweeted today to, “Ignore the noise.”  His quote made me start thinking about all of the “noise” I had been hearing lately that was distracting me from my main mission in life.

1456005_554141434669042_796358195_n

Hmmm…let me think…well…there has been noise from my poor children who have been cooped up in this house with me, the constant murmur of tv commentary in the background, the social media updates on my iPhone, the sneaky deceptive thoughts of being overwhelmed, distracted, second-guessing my life’s path, all clouding the gentle whispers of the Holy Spirit.

I have loved watching and listening to all of these professional football players talk about their one goal, their mission, their focused preparation, and their resolve.  Even through all of their press obligations that can totally throw a person off course, they are sticking to their plan, come Sunday, they will go out on that football field and play to win!

To be honest, I have not felt that resilience to achieve what God has been calling me to achieve in awhile.  I have had more distractions get in my way.  The minute I start feeling confident in my mission, some sort of thought or situation throws me of course.  These professional football players do not let anything get in their way!

I don’t know about you, but I need this to be my way of life too!!

When I get better, I am itching to get out of this stuffy house and get more exercise with my kids.  I want to be focused on God’s call on my life and not let anything distract me from this.  I want to be the best homeschool coach for my kids for the rest of the school year, so they will complete their subjects with honors!  I want to be the best wife and mom I can be and sacrificially cook and clean with my family in mind (because it doesn’t come naturally), so that they can love the home they have.  Everything else is extra and could possibly be unnecessary.

What kind of “noise” are you allowing into your life?  What are you going to do to be more focused on your life’s mission?

The Superbowl will be exciting and awesome to watch, but it will come and go, leaving each one of us with the choice of how we are going to continue living out our lives.   Are you going to live with a winning mindset?  Or are you going to allow distractions to throw you off course?

I am in it to win it!!!

 

IMG_1777
Lara~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

Leave a Reply

