What! No Technology! What To Do?

Now, I am not going to be talking about the technology that has brought forth enhancements to medicine and other scientific discoveries. I was actually thinking about my tv, the internet, the computer, the iPhone, as I laid in my bed ill and under the weather.  What would I do if I didn’t have these entertaining options at my disposal?  How would I pass the time away?

I did have a few books beside me waiting to be read.  I had a note pad waiting to be written on.  I had the blinds open with nature waiting to be enjoyed.  I had my bored-out-of-his-mind son waiting for attention.  I had the Lord waiting to engage in conversation.  There was nothing wrong with this list now that I step back and look at the  possibilities.  However, what typically happens is I want instant gratification.  My boredom can be pacified  and diffused by checking my emails, my Facebook, the news, youtube.  Why then, would I want or need to take the next step in engagement?  It’s ironic that I am venting my thoughts on a computer; typing away.  Those ideas listed above start looking dull in comparison to the interactive, entertaining drive of the internet.    It’s the next best thing to happen for humanity.  Right?

My daughter is also sick in bed today.  We’ve allowed her to have my computer to watch Netflix and be on a kids game since there is not much she can do, but stay in bed.  It became interesting this afternoon when I took it away and said she needed a break.  There was a pleading in her tone, an anxiety too.  She expressed her dependency on it to keep her calm and happy.  I don’t know about you, but when you were sick, did you remember what you did to pass the time away?  I never had a tv in my room or a computer when I was sick.  I had a window to look out of, books to read, music to listen to, toys to play with, a bed to sleep in, a mind to dream with.  I am living proof that one can survive sickness without watching tv or browsing the web.  But I am starting to sound like an out of touch parent.  Ug!  Is it really being out of touch or just embracing wisdom?

Being a homeschool mom, I find when I am firm with the boundaries of technology, my kids thrive in other more beneficial ways.  They make up games, they play with their toys, they remember they have a dog to love on, they create music, they draw, they cook, they write stories, they play with friends, they read.  It brings me great joy to watch them develop so many of their gifts that they, let’s be honest, they would put aside doing those things if they had the choice between technology and lack their of.

I believe with my whole heart that there is a battle going on for our minds. Who are we going to give our minds over to?  Technology or Creativity?  How do we fight back?  That is the question I’m still trying to figure out.  You see, I am enjoying sitting here writing this blog on a computer.  It is bringing me a lot of fulfillment.  I honestly don’t think writing this blog is the problem.  I think the little things we do on the internet and what we watch on tv are the culprits.  Add all of those little minutes and hours and our day flies by.  Even as I write this blog post, my dog, Molly, is pushing up my arms with her nose gently demanding my attention.  She has been outside all day and hasn’t seen me in a couple of days due to illness.  I have a choice to make.  I can either check my Facebook after I publish this post or I can turn off this computer and let her know I still love her.  Hmmmm….. ; )  I think I know what I need to do.

 

Lara~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

Leave a Reply

