Bring Us Back

Note: This is getting a bit tricky, trying to post each song chronologically. So I might get some mixed up. 😉

This song was a plea to God to bring me back to when my relationship with Him was exciting, adventurous, and powerful. I didn’t want to just sit back, enjoy my good life, and wait for Jesus to show up and take me home to be with Him. I was getting bored of coming to church every Sunday, go through the same church routines, sit in the same section of the church that I felt most comfortable in, connect with my friends, and going home. God rocked my life when I was a preteen by introducing me to His Holy Spirit’s power and friendship. He used me to bless and witness to others without any fear. Everyday I was excited to join Him in His work! But, as I grew up and had more and more responsibilities and a family, I became fearful and stagnant. I wrote this song out of a desire to go back to that amazing time in my life. I also was praying for that kind of revival for our church.

Bring Us Back
c2010 Lara Marriott

Bring us back to the place where we were
When we gave our lives to You
For the very first time
Bring us back to the place where we were
When we gave our lives to You
For the very first time

There was power in Your Holy Spirit
That made us strong
There was a love that overwhelmed us
Through and through
We knew a peace that passed our understanding
And guarded our hearts
Oh bring us back to that first place

Bring us back to the place where we were
When we gave our lives to You
For the very first time
Bring us back to the place where we were
When we gave our lives to You
For the very first time

There was power in Your Holy Spirit
That made us strong
There was a love that overwhelmed us
Through and through
We knew a peace that passed our understanding
And guarded our hearts
Oh bring us back to that first place

There was power in Your Holy Spirit
That made us strong
There was a love that overwhelmed us
Through and through
We knew a peace that passed our understanding
And guarded our hearts
Oh bring us back to that first place
Oh bring us back to that first place
Oh bring us back to that first place

Bring me back to the place where I was
When I gave my heart to You
For the very first time
Bring me back to the place where I was
When I gave my life to You
For the very first time

There is a power in Your Holy Spirit
That makes me strong
There is a love that overwhelms me
Through and through
I know a peace that passes all understanding
And guards my heart
Oh bring me back to that first place
Oh bring me back to that first place

You can listen to Bring Us Back here: http://www.soundclick.com/player/single_player.cfm?songid=9044604&q=hi&newref=1

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

Leave a Reply

