A Journal Entry I Want To Remember ~

I wrote this after an amazing experience I had being a part of leading the music for Bill Hybels’ Leadership Conference at Westminster Chapel in Bellevue, Washington before Hannah was born. = ) I am sharing it for two reasons. One, so if I misplace it I can still remember what happened. Two, maybe what was told to me could inspire someone else also.

‘This weekend was the Evangelism Conference at Westminster, hosted by Lee Strobel and Bill Hybels. It was a lot of work to pull it all off, but it was worth it. I sang, “Testify To Love” in a women’s trio that kicked off the whole event. We blended very well and got the audience warmed up. Lee Strobel spoke a little bit on his testimony. He was just an every day kinda guy. Before the conference started, the band and singers were in the choir room and Lee came in and said thank you for our hard work. He looked very normal. It was interesting.

After the first session, I went back to work. God opened the door for me to talk about the day to the gals. They were all pretty curious. One gal, Mary, asked what Lee Strobel said because she had his book, “The Case for Christ.” I told her and it was a neat moment.

I went back for the evening session after work. A couple days before, Dad asked if I would like to sing, “Nothing But The Blood” before Bill Hybel’s talked. I said yes, so that’s what I did for that session. Larry, the producer, wanted it done a certain way and was trying to communicate it by asking us to be more gospel. It didn’t work out that way. We finally convinced him our way was better. He wanted me to sing it like I was out on stage performing. That frustrated me a little because it made me feel like I was trying superficially to create a moment without having the moment there yet. This was during practice. So, I sang it like I was singing to God and after I looked at Larry and said, ‘Did you feel it?’ cuz’ I sure did. I felt the Holy Spirit. He said yes, so when it came time to go out on stage, God created a great moment that touched a lot of people including Bill Hybels. He said after we had walked out, “If I came here for anything it as for that song. I’m in debted to you.” We didn’t hear that, but Brian and some others told us later. That was very nice of him to say, but the moment was greater than Bill Hybels’ comment. It was a moment with God. I was so honored to play a part in the moment. I felt at home up on that platform. God uses the voice He’s given me always for great things. I was glad to be a part of it.

The next day, Brian and the Forum worship band led the last four sessions. We rocked! I was so proud of them. It was the best day for me even though we were all pretty tired. I sang, “Salt n’ Light” and “Still Haven’t Found” by U2. It was mostly in my throat. It was an interesting experience to use my throat. I think I did a good job.

Before the last session, a gentleman from the front row came up to me and said he loved my voice and did I have a CD? I told him no. He couldn’t believe it. The thing that stuck out for me was when he looked me straight in the eye and said, “Young lady, never stop using that voice for God. Only use it for God.” It was a really cool moment. He was a bald guy with tattoos down his arm. I wanted to make sure I never forgot that comment.’

God sure does take us all on amazing journeys through life. I’ve had mountain top experiences, valley experiences, and dry desert experiences. All in all, it’s been an eventful ride I never want to forget. = )

Lara~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

Leave a Reply

