Singer…Yes….Writer…Maybe ~

I called my blog, “The Singing Mommy” because singing has been the talent of choice for me all of my life and still is. Plus, God has blessed me abundantly with two precious children that like to humble me daily without even realizing it. = ) However, God has really pushed and challenged me to write down what is on my heart. About 10 years ago I began my writing journey as a songwriter. I wrote a couple of decent songs at the beginning, but found out pretty quickly that I had A LOT to learn about the craft of songwriting. Every time I came against a road block and wanted to quite, the Holy Spirit gently and personally wooed me back to the pen and paper I had come to deeply love. Now after almost a decade of being on a songwriting learning curve, I am branching out yet again into a new facet of writing; this blog. No music, no singing; just my thoughts and words. I’ve realized that not every deep thought of mine will make it into a song. So this is the place I get to use to ponder and share them with you.

At the beginning of the week as I was driving around with my family, listening to our kids in the backseat playing and laughing without a care in the world, I found another way of looking at this scripture; Luke 18:15-17 –

“People were also bringing babies to Jesus for him to place his hands on them. When the disciples saw this, they rebuked them. But Jesus called the children to him and said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”

When I use to read this passage it personally came to mean, as a Christian I needed to trust the Lord with my whole heart like a child trusts their parent(s) to take care of them. This is true, but I believe there is so much more Jesus wants us to get from His words. I have been in church my whole life as a worship pastor’s kid and now a worship pastor’s wife. I have seen the behind the scenes of church life, how people acted at church verses outside of church, and attended a handful of different denominations, so the lense I look through is pretty wide when it comes to church life.

Children are not only known for their blind trust. They are known far more for their playful abandon, their forgiveness, their noise, their raw emotions, their love, their laughter, their joy, their discoveries, their curiousity, their caring hearts, their sponge-like learning skills, their randomness, their surrender, their risk-taking, their acceptance of others, and their dreams. How much of this list do we see regularly in the lives of Christ-followers? I used to be this way when I was young, but the years of my life have slowly eaten away at the above list, creating a reservation in me. I used to love to dance and sing anywhere, at anytime, infront of anyone, but now…I hesitate. I used to dream big dreams and chase after them, but now…I hesitate. I used to laugh loudly without caring about what other people thought, but now…I hesitant. I used to take risks like fly around the world a couple of times, going on crazy world traveling adventures by myself, go parasailing, river rafting, wakeboarding, (which were risky for me), but now…I hesitate. I see this happening to other christians as well. We go to church on Sundays expecting the routine of listening to and singing worship songs, hearing announcements, having meet and greet time, receiving the offering, hearing an offeratory special, sitting through a deep message, ending with a closing song and a prayer team at the side of the room. We go on our way knowing we experienced something good, but leaving secretly wondering if there could have been something more. We are training ourselves to be reserved in our faith.

Jesus said, “Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” Children are messy, loud, playful, joyful, full of emotion, and live life with abandon. I want to, too!! I am tired of going through the motions that we Christians have unintentionally created during our church services. What would our services be like if we pushed through our hesitancies and broke the routine with child-like worship and praise to our King. What if we shook off the formalities that come with age and experience and replaced them with what we loved doing as children. I believe the Kingdom of God would fall on our church services and we would enter in to all that Jesus promised if we would just let go of our safety nets and jump out of the boat like Peter or danced in the streets like David. Jesus came to offer us life and freedom through His sacrificial mercy and grace. Such love! How can we not get a little child-like? We have so much to be thankful for!

I realize Rome was not built in a day. So for me, I am starting at home. Slowly choosing to dance around the house in abandoned worship, laughing loudly and playing games with my kids when my housework is calling out to me, singing my prayers and scripture verses aloud, giving God my heart. These are baby steps that will hopefully overflow into the other places I go throughout the week. I believe with my whole heart that God wants all of what makes us who we are as our acts of worship to Him. And in return, He wants to breathe joy and freedom back into our lives.

I hope to see more of this joy and freedom transform our churches and our Christian lives from the inside-out. Coming to Jesus like little children most definitely will usher in the Kingdom of God here on earth. Will you join me?

Lara~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

Leave a Reply

