Stars ~

Genesis 1:14

“And God said, ‘Let there be lights in the vault of the sky to separate the day from the night, and let them serve as signs to mark sacred times, and days and years, and let them be lights in the vault of the sky to give light on the earth.’ And it was so. God made two great lights-the greater light to govern the day and the lesser light to govern the night. He also made the stars. God set them in the vault of the sky to give light on the earth, to govern the day and the night, and to separate light from darkness. And God saw that it was good.”

My kids and I are starting to read the Bible from beginning to end this week. Hannah said that when we finished reading the entire bible we should reward ourselves with an ice cream at Foster’s Freeze. Oh the innocence of children. As an adult I think the reward should be a brand new black camaro with red stripes down the middle and tinted windows. ; )

As I was reading this part about the stars God’s Spirit impressed upon me how those stars that we take for granted so much of the time were actually made just for us; as gifts. The stars were created before us, intentionally made for us to use. Gifts. When that thought hit me it completely changed the way I looked at the stars. There was going to be a meteor shower in the next two days and on that morning I woke up at around 4am. I new I probably had missed the event, but I went outside to look up just in case I could see a few meteors zip by. As I was gazing at the stars I saw order and purpose in their creation. I no longer saw them as horoscope animals and images or random acts in the night sky. I was seeing them with new eyes. You see back when Adam and Eve were alive, there was no light pollution caused by our mere attempt at light creation. They had an incredible light show every single night! They saw the Milky Way, constellations patterned for each of the seasons, and numerous amounts of stars and galaxies peeking their curiosity.

Nowadays we fill our lives with our own prideful light creations (I’m to blame as well), flat screen tvs or now curved ones, IPhones, IPads, Androids, Kindles, Computers, Stereos, cars, street lights, etc, taking away from one of the most incredible gifts in all of creation; the stars!!

Another thought I had was how God has never charged us admission to view His amazing sky! We can see it every single night. Plus, no matter where we are in the world all of us have the privilege of looking up and being awestrucked by God’s beautiful handiwork. I love that!! What an amazing God we have! He proves His love for us through His creation. It’s just will we take the time to actually stop and wonder?

Because of the new revelation I received, I am seeing the world around me in a whole new light. It’s actually an old light that I’ve been awakened to again. I hope by reading this post, you too will be awakened to God’s creation and how much He truly loves you!!

Here is Nasa’s website: http://www.nasa.gov Just for fun = )

Lara~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

Leave a Reply

