Sovereign ~

Do you know what “Sovereign” means? That is a Christianese kind of word, but it has significant meaning. The dictionary defines it as:

“a person who has supreme power or authority”
“being above all others in character, importance, excellence, etc.”

If you believe there is a God, do you see Him as sovereign? Is He sovereign over your life?

I was listening to Chris Tomlin’s new worship cd called, “Burning Lights.” I love the first few songs, especially the dance one! = ) For a few weeks I’ve only wanted to listen to the fun ones, but for some reason I decided to make myself listen to all of the songs. As I was driving around, running errands today, the song, “Sovereign” came on. I really listened to the words. Then I started trying to sing them. They began to penetrate into my deepest being. The lyrics are:

Sovereign in the mountain air
Sovereign on the ocean floor
With me in the calm
With me in the storm

Sovereign in my greatest joy
Soverign in my deepest cry
With me in the dark
With me at the dawn

In your everlasting arms
All the pieces of my life
From beginning to the end
I can trust you

In your never failing love
You work everything for good
God whatever comes my way
I will trust you

Sovereign in the mountain air
Sovereign on the ocean floor
With me in the calm
With me in the storm

Sovereign in my greatest joy
Sovereign in my deepest cry
With me in the dark
With me at the dawn

In your everlasting arms
All the pieces of my life
From beginning to the end
I can trust you

In your never failing love
You work everything for good
God whatever comes my way
I will trust you

God whatever comes my way
I will trust you

All my hopes
All I need
Held in your hands

All my life
All of me
Held in your hands

All my fears
All my dreams
Held in your hands

All my hopes
All I need
Held in your hands

All my life
All of me
Held in your hands

All my fears
All my dreams
Held in your hands

In your everlasting arms
All the pieces of my life
From beginning to the end
I can trust you

In your never failing love
You work everything for good
God whatever comes my way
I will trust you

God whatever comes my way
I will trust you

God whatever comes my way
I will trust you

The tears that I have been building up inside from life’s frustrations and just being emotionally spent, came flooding back and they fell as an offering to the Lord.

Do you let yourself cry? Do you allow God to minister to you and your needs?

Sometimes I find it hard to do. I can manage my life. I’m a big girl. Right? Wrong. I still need to spend time with my Heavenly Father. I still need to know He is in control. I need to be reminded to surrender and let Him take care of what I cannot.

My fears
My frustrations
My anger
My exhaustion
My anxiety
My uncertainty
My control

I sang that song from my heart to Him and it began to bring healing to my tired heart. It reminded me that even in this uncertain, unstable world we live in, even now in the midst of the tension, God is in control and His plan will succeed. I…We…can trust Him.

I don’t know, I just felt compelled to share this with whoever takes the time to read my blog. Here is the youtube video of Chris Tomlin’s song, “Sovereign.” I pray it will minister to your heart as it did to mine. Oh and btw, did you know that it was written by five people? Five followers of Christ. Five men who took ownership of this song. I find that fascinating and powerful.

 

Lara~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

One thought on “Sovereign ~

  1. love your blogs ! Grateful for powerful songs like that and the ones you too will write !! We are compelled to write because we are impacted so powerfully by such music !

    Like

Leave a Reply

