My Testimony ~

I had to write about my relationship with God recently. Here is what I wrote:

I accepted Jesus as my Saviour when I was six years old during a Sunday School service. My dad was a worship pastor and so my life was lived in a Christian bubble, but I was free to learn how to fear the Lord, desiring to know Him better. There was a short period of time during my teenage years, when I told God I wanted to do things on my own. That didn’t last long because I sensed His Presence leave me alone, and I knew I didn’t want that to happen again.

I married my husband Brian and had two wonderful kids. He also became a worship pastor, and I transitioned into becoming a worship pastor’s wife. As I grew older, God took me through some refining. It was then I became aware of how pious, judgmental, angry, fearful, selfish and irrelevant I was. Not fun characteristics to discover about one’s self. It was a very difficult time in my life, but humbling. God revealed how much He still loved me and was committed to walking me through the valley I was in, shaping me to become the Lara He intended me to be.

Now, I’m in a good place in my walk with the Lord. I’m absolutely not perfect, and God makes sure I am shown that on a daily basis. = ) But I have learned the best way to face each day is to go to Him with everything, surrendering and following His leadership. He has made Himself known to me in very personal ways throughout my life. It excites me to share the love I have received from Him to others in the church body and outside of the church. My heart’s passion is to encourage and love others until they ask why?

What is your testimony? Would love to hear it. It is a good exercise. = )

Lara~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

Leave a Reply

