I Want Your Peaceful Heart ~

August 12, 2011 – The Spirit said again, “I want your peaceful heart.”

Me- How do I get a peaceful heart? (I was a worrier by nature and this concept sounded totally unattainable for me to achieve)

Spirit – Enjoy where you’re at. Enjoy what you have. Come spend time with Me. I am your Creator. I love you. I will take care of the rest. Trust me, my beloved. I am your Father in whom you can trust your life to. Now rest in my promise. Rest and find your joy. I have a lot to give you. Rest.

When I decided to do this fast I made a promise to myself that I would obey whatever God asked of me. I would be completely open to His leading. With that determination I tried to do exactly what He asked me to do to find a peaceful heart. I started crocheting because I love to do it, but never feel like I have enough time. I started enjoying my home by decorating a bit and tidying up so that I could invite others and enjoy their company. I connected with friends when the kids were in school. I was reading a great book called, “Redeeming Love.” Amazing example of what God’s love is like towards us. I played the piano. I listened to music. I sang. I felt like I had God’s permission to take time to do these things and I started to find my joy again. It was awesome! Oh and I was able to still find time to do my jobs, so it became a win/win.

August 13th, 2011 –

Spirit – Whenever you are anxious or distraught, rest and trust that God will lead you through.

Jesus Calling “Learn to enjoy life more. Relax, remembering that I am God with you. Matt 1:23; John 10:10-11

Spirit – If you want to serve others, serve your children, serve your husband. There will be a time when you can go serve in other places.” This hit me hard because I was feeling guilty about not having enough time to go serve others in need. It is something I am passionate about. I almost felt like God was disappointed in me because I wasn’t doing this. So to hear Him say this to me through His Spirit, helped me relax and realize this is just a season and to not neglect those dearest to me. They need me to serve them.

August 14th, 2011-

Last night I finished a book called, “Redeeming Love,” by Francine Rivers. I am writing this down in my fasting journal because the book described God’s love as relentless, never-ending, powerful, full of compassion, full of affection, and loving. I thought it to be that the Holy Spirit guided me to read it during this time. The book has been collecting dust for over 5 years and it was now that I decided to read it. I believe God is showing me in tangible ways how much He loves me. I am overwhelmed by the thought of it. The beautiful part is I realize how amazing it is when I am quiet and the distractions are minimal. Thank you God for loving a wretch like me.

Lara~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

Leave a Reply

