New Debut EP “Devoted”

It is almost done!  Matt and I are sorting out the mix for “Coming Down.”  Once that is done, he will start mastering the songs.  I am hoping it will be finished this month!  Whoo hoo!!!!  I never realized the recording process was truly a recording “process!”   Since I am SUCH a visionary it was easy for me to glamorize being a singer/songwriter.  Yes, there are many things that are fun and amazing, but there also is work and coordinating and misunderstandings and sickness and being exhausted and regular everyday life.

My journey has been very colorful; always moving, always evolving.   It also has kept bringing me back to the loves of my life.  What do I truly value?  I value the relationship I have with my husband.  I value investing time, energy, and faith into my children.  I value encouraging others that God puts in my life through teaching voice and piano, through singing and songwriting and through bonding with other moms.  I value my friends.  I value my extended family.  I value my alone time with God.

Reading the list back I realize it is already a long one.  There have been times when my values go on the back burner because I am on my computer too much, or I am running errands a lot, or I am too busy cleaning the house to stop and play with my kids, or I have over scheduled myself with other things, or I am obsessing over my songs, etc.  I start putting value on those things and holding them higher than my true values.  My life’s  journey thus far has shown me that it is important to invest in what I value most.  The other things will always demand for my attention.  When that happens to pray and ask for God’s strength and for His help to orchestrate it all each day.  He really does.  He is always faithful to help me out.  I don’t know how He does it.  When I don’t pray, my days usually end up stressful and frustrating.  When I do I find that what looked overwhelming at the beginning of the day turned out to be easier than I expected.  I also 9 times out of 10 accomplish the tasks on my list sheet without a hitch.

I love blogging, because there are not rules.  I can go off in different directions and it is okay. lol.

I am seeing the dawning of a new day breaking through my window.  Everyone is still asleep.  Our church band played in downtown Pleasanton last night.  Our kids didn’t get to bed until 2 hours passed their original bedtime.  I like it when they sleep in. he he.  God has blessed Brian and I with a wonderful band to share life with.  They are great.

Oh I am hearing stirring.  The kids must be up now.  I will let you know when the EP is finished.  Very exciting stuff!

Lara~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

Leave a Reply

