Album Update ~

Well, I finished the vocals on  “Glory, Glory To God” and “Coming Down.”  Matt is super busy with the CMS conference in New York this week so the songs are on hold.  Which is fine.  Those conferences that they put on are awesome.  They are life giving for worship leaders and musicians in the church.  My husband and I try to go every year.  Our drummer is on the bandwagon as well (pardon the pun lol).  He doesn’t want to miss one either.

My good friend is also helping me with my “Beginnings” CD cover.  I need to mail the hard copies out to my supporters who have purchased it.  I wanted to send it with a picture, but I didn’t know how to do that .  She did though!  I wasn’t sure if I should be sending that demo cd out since the songs on there aren’t as strong as the ones I am working on now and some of them need to be rewritten, but a friend of mine said she was listening to it the other day and was blessed by it.  I realized then that God can use my offerings for His purposes at any time.  I was so thankful.  Plus, that demo album of songs is really meant to document where I have been over the years.  I want people to see that I have had a journey as a songwriter.  I don’t plan on becoming famous or anything, but I have had the experience as a new songwriter looking at these accomplished writers thinking they had it all together, they already were great to begin with, and who am I to think I can be a songwriter like them.  (I still have my moments of doubt) But, I have a heart to encourage beginning songwriters that everyone has a starting point. Yes, some have been born stronger writers than others, but we all have a beginning song.  The ones I wrote that are on the cd aren’t even my first songs.  Those were awful!  Ask my dad.  I showed him my first song and he looked at me like I had just drawn my first picture of a person (if you are a parent you know exactly what those look like) and told me to keep working on it. I was 20.  I was ready to throw in the towel right then and there.  Very humbling. lol.  I am glad I didn’t though because I love to listen to the songs that have come from my heart.  They are my journal and very special to me.  I love seeing the growing process in me.  I think I am getting better and better as I keep writing and pursuing my gift.  Plus, it is so much fun to be surrounded and inspired by other songwriters.  To anyone who is struggling with insecurity, don’t give up.  The joy comes from the journey not accomplishing our dreams and visions that we have a tendency to chase after.  They spur us on to continue, but they don’t provide the ongoing joy.   With God we can do all things.

What is the next step in the recording process?  I am going to be starting to write three more songs for the album.  I can’t wait.  Now that I feel there is nothing more to do on the other ones I can be freed up to be creative again in the writing process.  I still get nervous and have insecure thoughts, but when they come I remember that they are not of the Lord.  I don’t need to be afraid.  I can have fun.  These songs will come together somehow.  Plus, I have other songwriters to help me in the refining process.

Pretty soon my EP will be out with three songs to showcase what is to come on the debut album.  I can’t wait for you to hear them.  I can’t wait to start singing them live.  Very exciting stuff.

Til next time.  Have a great week!

Lara~

www.laramarriott.com & itunes

Leave a Reply

